Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women’s Tennis Splits Non-Conference Matches to Open Spring Schedule

Senior Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference player Kayla Eeg
Senior Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference player Kayla Eeg

ALBION, Mich. – The Baldwin Wallace University women's tennis team opened up its spring schedule with two non-conference matches with Kalamazoo (Mich.) College and Albion (Mich.) College, respectively.

BW (2-2) lost to Kalamazoo (1-0) by a score of 9-0 and defeated Albion (1-2) by a score of 7-2.  

Kalamazoo opened the first match by winning all three doubles. The No. 2 doubles pair of senior Shannon Finkenthal (Beachwood) and freshman Becca Liebler (Medina) and the No. 3 doubles tandem of senior Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference player Kayla Eeg (Waterford, Pa./General McLane) and junior Kathleen Moser (Strongsville) each lost by a score of 8-2 in the most competitive doubles matches.

Freshman Ashtyn Morris (Salem) had the most success in singles play. The freshman won three games in the course of her No. 2 singles match, 6-1, 6-2. Finkenthal was also able to take two games in the same set in her No. 4 singles match as she lost 6-2, 6-0.

Against Albion, the Yellow Jackets swept all three doubles matches. Freshmen Jayde Robinson (Cincinnati/School for Creative & Performing Arts) and Morris recorded their first win as doubles partners with an 8-1 victory at No. 1 doubles. Finkenthal and Liebler won 8-3 at No. 2 doubles and Eeg and Moser notched an 8-4 win at third doubles, each pair also marking their first wins in doubles action.

In singles, Robinson, Morris, Liebler and Eeg all picked up victories as Albion earned its two points in tough matches on courts No. 4 and 5. Robinson and Liebler each rolled to 6-1, 6-0 wins at No. 1 and No. 3, respectively, while Morris and Eeg battled for 6-4, 6-2 and 6-3, 6-4 scores at No. 2 and No. 6, respectively.

BW will hit the courts again on Saturday, February 10, when the Yellow Jackets travel to take on Oberlin College in non-conference action at 10 a.m. inside the Heisman Field House.