Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Swimming and Diving Team Drops Non-Conference Dual to Ohio Wesleyan

Bella Ratino (Photo Courtesy of Ed Hall, Jr.)
Bella Ratino (Photo Courtesy of Ed Hall, Jr.)

BEREA, Ohio. – The Baldwin Wallace University women's swimming and diving team was defeated by Ohio Wesleyan University in a non-conference dual meet in the BW Natatorium inside the Lou Higgins Center.

BW (3-1) fell to Ohio Wesleyan by a final score of 134-100.

The Yellow Jackets were led by senior All-Ohio Athletic Conference freestyler Allie Thorson (Amherst/Marion Steele) and sophomore All-Ohio Athletic Conference performer Bella Ratino (Mentor/Hawken) as the duo each won two events.   Thorson captured the 200-yard freestyle and 500-yard freestyle in times of 2:05.64 and 5:38.46. Ratino captured the 100-yard backstroke and the 1000-yard freestyle in times of 1:02.39 and 11:23.21, respectively.  

Also picking up a victory was junior All-Ohio Athletic Conference and Academic All-OAC stroker Marissa Kural (LaGrange, Ill./Lyons Township) as she won the 100-yard butterfly in a time of 1:00.91.  Kural was also the runner-up in the 200-yard individual medley in a time of 2:21.02.

In addition, freshman stroker Julia Newbould (Strongsville) placed second in the 50-yard freestyle and the 100-yard freestyle in times of 26.74 and 58.81.  Senior All-OAC and Academic All-OAC performer Erika Nockengost (Cuyahoga Falls) finished second in the 100-yard butterfly in a time of 1:03.70.    Senior Academic All-OAC performer Ellie Clymer (Independence) was the runner-up in the 100-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:14.04.

In relay action,  the 200-yard medley unit of Ratino, Clymer, Nockengost and Newbould was the champion in a time of 1:57.38.  The 200-yard freestyle team of Kural, senior Jenna Ball (Salamanca, N.Y.), sophomore Kayla McClintock (Venetia, Pa./Peters Township) and Thorson was second in a time of 1:46.86.

BW is back in action on Friday, November 8 when it travels Alliance for an OAC dual meet against the University of Mount Union at 6 p.m.