Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 14 Women's Basketball Defeats Trine (Ind.), Extends Undefeated Streak to Eight Games

Senior guard/forward Kara Marshall (Photo courtesy of Hailey Owens)
Senior guard/forward Kara Marshall (Photo courtesy of Hailey Owens)

BEREA, Ohio – The No. 14 nationally-ranked Baldwin Wallace University women's basketball team extended its impressive win streak to eight games by defeating Trine (Ind.) University by a final score of 58-46 in a non-conference matchup and opening segment of a men and women's basketball doubleheader in Ursprung Gymnasium.

In its first matchup since the 2015-16 season, BW (8-0) improved its all-time record against Trine to 1-1. As aforementioned, the Yellow Jackets also earned their eight consecutive victory to begin the season, its longest win streak outright since beginning the 2018-19 campaign with eight straight wins as well. With the 12-point win, BW has now remarkably won every game by a double-digits margin. Entering today's action, the Yellow Jackets remain just one of 15 undefeated teams left in all of NCAA Division III women's basketball.

BW was led by three scorers in double-figures. Senior Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference guard/forward Kara Marshall (Copley/Akron Archbishop Hoban) scored a team-high 11 points, to go along with five rebounds and a perfect 2-2 shooting from three-point range. Senior All-OAC guard/forward Hannah Fecht (Hilliard/Davidson) chipped in with 10 points and five boards. Providing a spark off the bench was sophomore All-OAC forward Lilly Edwards (Dublin/Coffman), who contributed with 10 points and game-high six rebounds in the victory.

The Thunder's top performers were junior forward Shay Herbert and senior guard Katy Steers. Herbert garnered game-highs of 13 points, six rebounds and three blocks, while Steers added 10 points, including game-highs of six boards and three assists in the defeat.

As has been the case for the Yellow Jackets for the majority of the season thus far, BW jumped out to a fantastic start, scoring the game's first eight points. In an attempt to not let the game get out of hand from the get-go, Trine responded with an 11-4 run in the latter portion of the first quarter to hover within striking distance. The Thunder's run carried over to the preliminary stages of the second quarter, as they constructed a 12-2 run to attain their peak lead of four points over BW. Facing some adversity for the first time in the game, BW was able to string together a 13-2 run in the last 5:41 of the second frame. The Yellow Jackets' run was highlighted by a pivotal Marshall three-pointer, which was subsequently followed by a Marshall and-one on the following possession. Sophomore guard Sydney Snyder (Kirtland) was also able to bank in a three-pointer at the buzzer to regain a seven-point lead for BW headed to halftime.

The Yellow Jackets encountered difficulties offensively in the third quarter, shooting just 27.3 percent from the field and giving up six turnovers in the frame. The Thunder were able to capitalize on BW's offensive woes in the third by outscoring them 14-9. However, the Yellow Jackets would not be disheartened heading into the fourth quarter, soaring to a 13-0 run in the period's opening 4:53 of play. BW's momentum peaked when it executed two beautifully placed under-the-rim passes for easy layups on consecutive possessions for sophomore forward Megan Scheibelhut (Avon Lake/Elyria Catholic), with the first pass coming from senior All-OAC and Academic-All-OAC guard Kasey Hughes (Springboro) and the second from Fecht. The Yellow Jackets' defense also held down the fort in the fourth period, stifling Trine for just five points and a mere 16.7 shooting percentage. BW managed to hold on to its double-digit lead, and keep its win streak alive.

The Yellow Jackets return to the court on Sunday, December 29 when they travel to Waverly, Iowa to compete in the Wartburg Holiday Tournament. BW will take on No. 7 nationally-ranked host team Wartburg (Iowa) University at 2:00 p.m. The tournament consolation and championship game will take place on Monday, December 30 at either 2:00 p.m. or 4:00 p.m. against a to-be-determined opponent.