Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Swimming and Diving Knocks Off Hiram For Third Win of Season

Taylor Elgart
Taylor Elgart

BEREA, Ohio – The Baldwin Wallace University men's swimming and diving team earned its second victory of the season as it won a non-conference dual meet against Hiram College by a score of 98-50 in the BW Natatorium.

BW was led by senior diver Jon Levin (Olmsted Falls) and junior All-American stroker Tyler Thompson (Broadview Heights/Brecksville-Broadview Heights) as each won two events.  Levin won both the 1-meter diving competitions as he scored 141.85 points in the five-dive event and a career-best 223.15 points in the six-dive event. Thompson touched the wall first in the 50-yard freestyle in a career-best time of 22.56 seconds and the 100-yard butterfly in a season-best time of 55.69.

Also, earning victories were senior All-Ohio Athletic Conference performer Jacob Burk (Bowling Green), senior stroker Taylor Elgart (Shaker Heights), sophomore freestyler Tyler Allison (Napoleon), sophomore freestyler John Beyer (Columbus/Centennial) and freshman freestyler Greg Shaw (Colorado Springs, Colo./Manitou Springs).  

Burk won the 400-yard individual medley in a season-best time of 4:32.43. Elgart took the 100-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:11.26.  Allison captured the 100-yard backstroke in a season-best time of 1:01.48. Beyer touched the wall first in the 500-yard freestyle in a time of 6:00.17. Shaw won the 100-yard freestyle in a career-best time of 50.74. 

In relay action, the 200-yard medley relay team of sophomore freestyler Matt Roetter (Troy), Burk, freshman freestyle Marcus Campbell (East Liverpool) and Beyer touched the wall first in a season-best time of 1:53.93.  The 200-yard freestyle unit of Shaw, Thompson, freshman freestyler Austin Lockhart (Olmsted Falls) and Allison took the win with a time of 1:32.83. 

BW closes out its four meet homestand on Saturday, November 19 when it hosts an OAC dual meet against the University of Mount Union in the BW Natatorium at 1 p.m.   Fans can follow all of the results at