Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

BW Baseball Yellow Jacket Award

The Baldwin Wallace University Yellow Jacket Award is given annually to the exemplary baseball student-athlete who demonstrated a year-round dedication and commitment to the sport of baseball and to the team. He also displays a positive attitude toward the game and his teammates. The recipient also must have a strong work ethic and a style of unselfish play and leadership, that, if emulated by anyone, would make for a better player and a better teammate.

There have been five players who have won the award multiple times. They are Ron Mudra in 1990 and 1991, Jason Elias in 2001 and 2003, Dan Melito in 2005 and 2006, Cody Kidd in 2007 and 2008 and Brad Gugliotta in 2013 and 2014.

1984-1985 Bill Kraus Second Baseman

Two-time CoSIDA Division III Academic All-American outfielder Cody Kidd '09 is one of five two-time recipients of the BW Baseball Yellow Jacket Award. He had the highest batting average (.387) and stole more bases (63) than any other BW player during the 2000s.


1986-1987 Chip Lyons Pitcher
1987-1988 Doug Dockus Second Baseman Shortstop Pitcher
1988-1989 Dan DeVoe Third Baseman
1989-1990 Ron Mudra Third Baseman
1990-1991 Ron Mudra Third Baseman
1991-1992 Brad Boynar Outfielder
1992-1993 Rick Simmons Shortstop
1993-1994 Ken Davenport Pitcher
  Joel Nichols Outfielder/Designated Hitter
1994-1995 Jamie Barton Pitcher
1995-1996 Max Newill Pitcher
1996-1997 T.J. Shalak Catcher/First Baseman/Outfield
1997-1998 George Toland Third Baseman
1999-2000 Todd Bratz Third Baseman
2000-2001 Jason Elias First Baseman
2001-2002 Brian Keller Outfielder
  Adam Pajakowski Catcher
2002-2003 Jason Elias First Baseman/Designated Hitter
  Cal Snyder Pitcher
2003-2004 Mike Farrell Designated Hitter/Outfield
2004-2005 Dan Melito Outfielder
2005-2006 Dan Melito Outfielder
  Kevin Brown Second Baseman
2006-2007 Cody Kidd Outfielder
  Riley Kreisher First Baseman
2007-2008 Cody Kidd Outfielder
  Brandon Fredericks Pitcher
2008-2009 Chris Nealon Outfielder/Pitcher
  Ben Stoper Outfielder
2009-2010 Jordan Barnett Catcher
  Joe Wickens First Baseman
2010-2011 Brendan Toughey Outfielder
2011-2012 Matt Kulick First Basemen
2012-2013 Brad Gugliotta Third Baseman
2013-2014 Brad Gugliotta Third Baseman
2014-2015 Kyle Chontos First Baseman
  Anthony Eder Catcher
2015-2016 Mark Koskinen Infielder
2016-2017 none selected  
2017-2018 Trent Kaltenbach Catcher

 CAPITAL LETTERS & BOLD FACED TYPE INDICATE that the student-athlete is still at BW.

This page was last updated March 22, 2020