BW Baseball Guy Fisher Academic Excellence Award

The BW Baseball Academic Excellence Award was created in 1990 and is given annually to the baseball student-athlete who displays academic excellence in the classroom at the highest level. The award was renamed in honor of BW standout second baseman and 1989 CoSIDA Academic All-American Guy Fisher '91.

Guy Fisher was best known for his all-out hustle, excellent defensive play and always team-first attitude. He was injured in a sliding accident in the spring of 1989 doing the thing he loved most -- playing the game of baseball and hustling -- and was lost for the season. But that did not stop Guy or dismay him from displaying his love for the game of baseball, his love of the Yellow Jackets and Baldwin Wallace University and the value of a good, solid, Division III education.

The son of longtime, retired and Hall of Fame BW Baseball Coach and Professor Dr. Bob Fisher '63, Guy graduated from the University with a 3.89 grade point average. In 1998, he individually worked a number of years to produce a publication of the first 100 years of Baseball at BW, now known as the BW Baseball Almanac.

Today's winner of the BW Academic Execellence Award in Baseball is now known as the Winner of the Guy Fisher Award.

1989-1990 Jeff Kuhn Pitcher

Two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American and 2013 CoSIDA Dicision III Academic All-America of the Year Brendan Toughey '13 won the Guy Fisher Academic Excellence Award three straight years and is the only three-time award-winner in program history. In 2018-2019, senior Lane Niemann '19 earned the award over teammate and fellow senior Danny Cody '19 who was a CoSIDA Div. III Academic All-American and a 17th round draft pick by the Houston Astros!
1990-1991 Jeff Pascarella Pitcher
1991-1992 Tom Serdinak First Baseman
1992-1993 Bill McBrayer Outfielder
1993-1994 Chris Mineard Outfielder
1994-1995 Ryan Marcy Outfielder
1995-1996 Brian Rudloff Pitcher
1996-1997 Brian Rudloff Pitcher
1997-1998 Scott Jackson Pitcher
1999-2000 Neil Stein Outfielder
2000-2001 Darrel Thomasick Pitcher
2001-2002 Ryan Petrusky Pitcher
2002-2003 Brad Epstein Outfielder/First Baseman
  Jim LaRocca Outfielder
2003-2004 Mike Turchan Third Baseman/Pitcher
2004-2005 Kevin Brown Second Baseman
2005-2006 Nate Luken Second Baseman
2006-2007 Brandon Fredericks Pitcher
2007-2008 Justin Novak Pitcher
2008-2009 Brandon Fredericks Pitcher
2009-2010 Justin Novak Pitcher
2010-2011 Brendan Toughey Outfielder
2011-2012 Brendan Toughey Outfielder
2012-2013 Brendan Toughey Outfielder
2013-2014 Brad Gugliotta Third Baseman
2014-2015 John Taylor Outfielder
2015-2016 John Taylor Outfielder
2016-2017 Spencer Badia Second Baseman
2017-2018 Spencer Badia Second Baseman
2018-2019 Lane Niemann Outfielder/ Utility


This page was last updated March 22, 2020